CACC Announces its Hall of Fame Class of 2018

CACC Announces its Hall of Fame Class of 2018

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (September 5, 2018) -- The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) is pleased to announce its Hall of Fame Class of 2018, which includes three individuals and one team, as announced on Wednesday by Commissioner Dan Mara. The class includes Steve Baxter (Dominican College), Andre Dabney (Bloomfield College), Corinne Reiser Houser (Caldwell University) and the 2008 Georgian Court University Volleyball team.

"We are excited to honor the Class of 2018, which includes three outstanding individuals and a terrific team," said Mara. "Steve Baxter is one of the finest coaches in conference history, while both Andre Dabney, Corinne Reiser Houser and the student-athletes on the 2008 Georgian Court Volleyball team helped to elevate the CACC at both the regional and national levels through their athletic accomplishments."

STEVE BAXTER (Dominican College Women's Basketball Head Coach)
Baxter served 29 years at Dominican College in a variety of roles, including 24 years as the women's basketball head coach. A three-time CACC Coach of the Year, Baxter led the Chargers to 16 CACC Tournament appearances and two trips to the NAIA Division II National Tournament. He compiled a career record of 361-328, and was among the top 15 in career wins among NAIA coaches when he retired in 2001.

ANDRE DABNEY (Bloomfield College Men's Basketball Player)
Dabney was a First-Team All-CACC performer each of his four seasons. He was named the CACC Player of the Year in 2005 and was the tournament most valuable player, as he guided the program to the second of its three-straight conference titles from 2004-06. A three-time CACC Champion, Dabney led the team to its first two NCAA Tournament appearances in 2005 and 2006. He finished his career with 2,350 points, and currently ranks second in program history for career scoring. Dabney was also named the 2006 All-Met Writers Division II Player of the Year.

CORINNE REISER HOUSER (Caldwell University Softball Player)
In 2004, Houser was named the CACC Pitcher of the Year and led the Cougars to the CACC Regular Season and Tournament Championships, the NCAA Division II Northeast Region crown and a berth in the Women's College World Series by pitching in all nine post-season games. A four-time First-Team All-CACC performer, she was named a second-team All-American in 2004 after going 27-4 with 331 strikeouts and a microscopic earned run average of 0.51. Houser was a four-time NFCA Northeast Region First-Team honoree, and still holds the program records for career ERA (0.83) and career strikeouts (782).

The 2008 Lions went 32-5 overall and a 21-0 mark in CACC play (including the postseason) to win the league championship. GCU became the first and only volleyball program in CACC history to win a match in the NCAA Regional Tournament with a 3-0 triumph over Merrimack in the first round. The team featured five All-CACC players, including conference player of the year Angie Casado. Twenty-two (22) of the team's 32 victories were by 3-0 margins.

The Class of 2018 marks the fourth class to enter the CACC Hall of Fame, which was established in 2015. This year's class of four will bring the total number of inductees (including individuals and teams) to 18. The GCU volleyball team is the third squad to be inducted in the CACC Hall of Fame, while the other 15 spots are comprised of individuals.

Each of this year's inductees will officially enter the CACC Hall of Fame at an induction ceremony on each of their respective campuses throughout the upcoming athletic season.

To view the entire history of the CACC Hall of Fame, please CLICK HERE.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.