NEW HAVEN, CT (May 5, 2009) - Wilmington University senior outfielder Cody Holliday has been selected as the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Baseball Player of the Year in balloting released Tuesday. Dominican College sophomore Tom Kahl was tabbed Pitcher of the Year, while fellow Charger Justin Moore was the pick for Rookie of the Year. Dominican head coach Rick Giannetti garnered Coach of the Year honors and the University of the Sciences in Philadelphia was given the annual Team Sportsmanship Award. The 10 CACC head coaches conducted the voting for the awards.

Holliday, a 6-3 senior outfielder from Havre de Grace, MD, ranks among league leaders in numerous categories. He stands fifth in batting average (.366) and on-base percentage (.455), first in runs batted in (48), total bases (111), hits (68) and doubles (16), second in home runs (7) and runs scored (49), and third in slugging percentage (.597).  Holliday helped lead Wilmington to the No. 3 seed for the upcoming CACC Tournament, which the Wildcats will host on May 7-9. Holliday was also a first team All-CACC pick in 2008 in his first season.

Kahl, a 5-11 sophomore right-hander from Bay Shore, NY, tied for the CACC lead in wins with six and had posted the best winning percentage at 6-0. He earned a 2.33 earned-run average, which ranks third among starters in the conference. Furthermore, his 78 strikeouts in 65.2 innings of work led the league and he stands seventh in innings pitched.

Moore, a 6-2 freshman closer from Wantagh, NY, shattered the CACC record for saves in a season with 14 thus far in 2009. The previous record was seven, which was accomplished last season. He also ranks second in Division II in saves. He sports a 1.96 ERA in 19 regular-season appearances and also earned one win on the mound. He allowed just one extra-base hit (a double) this season.

Giannetti, who is in his 20th season guiding the Chargers, led DC to the 2009 CACC Regular-Season Championship with a 22-5 record and a No. l ranking in the East Region with a 35-10 overall mark. The Chargers have compiled a sterling 17-4 record on the road this season. Dominican is the top seed for the upcoming CACC Tournament. 

 The complete All-Conference team and special award winners are listed below. Repeat first team selections include Holliday, Nyack College 1B Cody Levins, Felician College catcher Marcos Torres, Philadelphia University shortstop Tyler Mentzer and Post University 3B Corey Huffine.  

1B Cody Levins Nyack Sr. McKinney, TX
2B Mickey Zudonyi Felician So. Holmdel, NJ
SS Tyler Mentzer Philadelphia Jr. Gettysburg, PA
3B Corey Huffine Post Sr. Colorado Springs, CO
C Marcos Torres Felician Jr. Miami, FL
OF Alexi Colon Dominican Fr. Millville, NJ
OF Cody Holliday Wilmington Sr. Havre de Grace, MD
OF Ray Keelan  Caldwell Jr. Barnegat, NJ
DH Michael Munoz Dominican So. Bronx, NY
UT Phil Messerian Nyack Jr. Fair Lawn, NJ
P Danny Conti Felician Jr. Aberdeen, NJ
P Brian Craig Dominican Sr. Shenandoah, PA
P Tom Kahl Dominican So. Bay Shore, NY
P Buddy Riggs Caldwell Jr. Coral Springs, FL
RP Justin Moore Dominican Fr. Wantagh, NY


1B Jim Conto Post Sr. West Hempstead, NY
2B Peter McCauley USP Sr. New Tripoli, PA
SS PJ Rodriguez Nyack Jr. Levittown, Puerto Rico
3B Adric Saxon Caldwell Jr. Coral Springs, FL
C Robert Iglesias Dominican So. Mays Landing, NJ
OF Vinnie DiBenedetti Felician Sr. Forked River, NJ
OF Dan Ellmer Philadelphia Sr. Trenton, NJ
OF Alex Latchum Chestnut Hill Fr. Warrington, PA
DH Ricky Maldonado Bloomfield Sr. Lakewood, NJ
UT Mark Forbes USP Jr. Hockessin, DE
UT Willie Mann Dominican Jr. Patterson, NY
P Steve Godowski Bloomfield So. Sayerville, NJ
P Joe Harris Wilmington So. Douglassville, PA
P Brian Rousseau Philadelphia Jr. Wantagh, NY
RP John Walsh Bloomfield Jr. Saddle Brook, NJ


Honorable Mention: George Kochu, SS, So., Chestnut Hill; Tom Maloney, 1B, Jr., Dominican; Kevin Lauranzon, Sr., 1B, Bloomfield; Mike Libretta, Sr., OF, Felician; Mike Godwin, Fr., P, Wilmington; Jared Farbman, So., P, Philadelphia; Kevin Earlie, Fr., P, Nyack; Alex Del Valle, Jr., SS, Felician; Luke Peyton, Fr., RP, USP 

Player of the Year: Cody Holliday, Sr., OF, Wilmington

Pitcher of the Year: Tom Kahl, So., Dominican

Rookie of the Year: Justin Moore, Fr., RP, Dominican

Coach of the Year: Rick Giannetti, Dominican

Team Sportsmanship Award: USP