NEW HAVEN, Conn. (May 10, 2011) – Wilmington University has swept the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Player, Pitcher and Rookie of the Year awards, as the 2011 All-CACC team was released by the conference office. Junior catcher Mike Godwin was named Player of the Year, senior left-hander Joe Harris was chosen Pitcher of the Year and freshman lefty Jaime Treml was voted Rookie of the Year. Frank Angeloni of the University of the Sciences was tabbed Coach of the Year, while Nyack College was given the annual Team Sportsmanship Award. The CACC head coaches conducted the voting for the awards. The announcement was made by Commisioner Daniel Mara of Waterbury.

Godwin, a junior catcher from Hockessin, Del., ranks among league leader in numerous categories. He leads the conference with 38 runs batted in, is second with 16 doubles, fourth with a .333 batting average, and sixth with 44 hits. He has scored 28 runs to go with one triple and one home run on the season. Godwin was the CACC Player of the Week on April 25. He was also a first team All-Conference pick last season.    

Harris, a senior left-hander from Douglassville, Pa., has been named the conference Pitcher of the Year for the second straight season. He went 7-2 this season with a 1.64 ERA. One of those losses was a tough 1-0 setback to Concordia to end the regular-season. Harris ranks second in the conference in wins and fourth in ERA. He has fanned 81 batters and allowed only 44 hits and 15 walks in 65.2 innings of work. He is tied for the league lead in strikeouts with teammate Jaime Treml and held opponents to a .184 batting average.

Treml, a freshman left-handed pitcher from Newark, Del., was also a second team All-Conference pick in addition to his Rookie of the Year accolade.  He went 8-1 with a 1.99 ERA in the regular-season, and led the CACC in wins, while tying for the lead in strikeouts (81).  Opponents hit .168 off of him, and he ranks eighth in NCAA Division II in fewest hits allowed per nine innings (5.12). 

Frank Angeloni has led the Devils to a huge turnaround in 2011. Last year, USciences won only four games all season, including a 1-19 mark in conference play. This season, Angeloni led the Devils to the CACC Tournament for the first time in program history after going 11-9 in conference play and 13-20 overall.   

The complete All-Conference team and special award winners are listed on the following page. Repeat first team picks include Godwin, Harris, 3B Brendan Barry of Post University and Dominican College starting pitcher David Bartuska.

1B Travis Locascio Post Jr. Massapequa, NY
2B Jesse Daywalt Chestnut Hill Jr. Phoenixville, PA
SS Kyle Davis USciences So. Garnet Valley, PA
3B Brendan Barry Post Sr. Franklin Square, NY
C Mike Godwin Wilmington Jr. Hockessin, DE
OF Luis Gonzalez Concordia So. Carmel, NY
OF Jordan Oncay Wilmington Sr. Newark, DE
OF Dan Robinson Dominican Sr. Massapequa, NY
DH T.J. Walsh Concordia Sr. Eastchester, NY 
UT Matt Umba  Wilmington  Sr.  West Deptford, NJ 
P David Bartuska  Dominican  Jr.  Duryea, PA 
P Steven Corbett  Post  Jr.  Prospect, CT 
P Joe Harris  Wilmington  Sr.  Douglassville, PA 
P Dan McMahon  USciences  So.  Millville, NJ 
RP Robert Bennetti  Caldwell  Fr.  Laurence Harbor, NJ 
1B Andrew Camardella  Dominican  So.  Pelham, NY 
2B Mario Lopez  Dominican  Sr.  Anthony, NM 
SS Anthony DiFrancesco  Philadelphia  Sr.  Landenberg, PA 
3B Mike Farrell  Felician  So.  Lincroft, NJ 
C Robert Iglesias  Dominican  Sr.  Mays Landing, NJ 
OF Jason Berrios Concordia Jr. Brooklyn, NY
OF JD Calabrese  Nyack  Jr.  Paramus, NJ 
OF Dan Etherton  Chestnut Hill  Sr.  Princeton, NJ 
OF Jorge Ynoa  Caldwell  Jr.  Bayside, NY 
DH Luis Buron  Bloomfield  Jr.  Garfield, NJ 
UT Jimmy Simpson  Felician  Jr.  Biscayne Park, FL 
P Kurt Bruce  Wilmington  Sr.  Lusby, MD 
P Joel Sanchez  Felician  Sr.  Hialeah, FL 
P Jamie Treml  Wilmington  Fr.  Newark, DE 
RP Shane Junger  Felician  Jr.  Waretown, NJ 
Honorable Mention: Ralph Dieguez, Sr., DH, Post; Joe Petosa, So., OF
Felician; Alex Latchum, Jr., OF, Chestnut Hill
Player of the Year: Mike Godwin, Jr., C, Wilmington
Pitcher of the Year: Joe Harris, Sr., LHP, Wilmington
Rookie of the Year: Jamie Treml, Frl, LHP, Wilmington
Coach of the Year: Frank Angeloni, USciences
Team Sportsmanship Award: Nyack College