CACC Announces 2013 Baseball All-Conference Teams

CACC Announces 2013 Baseball All-Conference Teams

NEW CASTLE, Del. – Concordia College first baseman Luis Gonzalez was named 2013 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Baseball Player of the Year at the league's annual awards banquet tonight.  Also, honored at the dinner was Wilmington University's Dave Hatt as Pitcher of the Year, Chestnut Hill College designated hitter Brendan Looby as the Rookie of the Year, Concordia skipper Craig Everett as Coach of the Year and Nyack College was selected as the Team Sportsmanship Award winner.

Gonzalez is ranked first in conference play in several offensive categories including: hits (33), doubles (11), runs batted in (22), total bases (52) and on-base percentage (.521).  For the year, Gonzalez hit .366 with a team-leading 17 doubles and an on-base percentage of .484, all of which rank second in the CACC.  He only committed two errors all season in 333 chances for a .944 fielding percentage.   The senior from Carmel, N.Y. enjoyed his best game of the year in a win on April 16 over Post University, in which he went 3-for-5 with two homeruns and six RBI.  Six days later against Caldwell College, he 3-for-4 with a double and four RBI in the win.

Hatt (7-0) was dominant on the mound for Wilmington in 2013 leading the conference with seven wins, six in league play and 73.3 innings pitched.  The senior from Toronto, Canada was second in the conference with a 1.02 earned run average for the season and 1.71 in CACC contests.  In conference play, batters only hit .195 against Hatt while averaging 6.28 strikeouts per game.  On April 6 in the win over Felician College, Hatt went the distance surrendering only three hits and two walks while fanning nine Falcons. 

Looby has made an immediate impact in the Chestnut Hill lineup.  The freshman native of Sewell, N.J. leads the Griffins with a .344 batting average (7th CACC), 32 RBI (6th), 53 hits (10th) and a .409 slugging percentage in 154 at-bats.  Looby recorded multiple RBI in a game eight times so far this season including a career-high three against West University on April 30. 

Everett in his first season with the Clippers was selected by his peers as the Coach of the Year.  He guided Concordia to the number three seed in the CACC tournament on the strength of a 13-7 mark in the league.  Under his leadership, five of his players were selected to one of the all-conference teams including the player of the year.    

Joining Gonzalez, Hatt and Looby on the CACC All-Conference First Team are: catcher Matt Lopes, 3B Josh Hampton, utility Frank Samluk, pitcher Ray Gambone and Nick Marics of Wilmington; 2B Dylan Ebel, OF Tony Blake and Peter Martinez of Dominican College; OF Joe Gallub and DH Cristian Fiorito of Concordia; SS Aaron Brill of Felician; and OF John Kennedy of Nyack.

The CACC All-Conference Second Team includes: C Tyler Clark, 1B Andrew Camardella, DH Carlos Lopez, utility Oliver Christensen of Dominican; 2B Mike Shada of Post; 2B Paul Nyitray and OF Andrew Nunez of Caldwell; 2B Kris Chatman of Nyack; SS Kyle Davis of the University of the Sciences; 3B Mike Manganiello, pitcher Albert Martucci of Concordia; OF Brandon Payne and Jordan Johnson of Wilmington; pitcher Vic Monteagudo and Jack Fowler of Felician; and pitcher Dominic Raia III of Chestnut Hill.

Those that were named honorable mention were 1B Jon McMahon of USciences, SS Jonathan Rodriguez of Wilmington, utility Cole Tobin of Nyack and pitcher Micah Winterstein of Chestnut Hill.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell College, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician College, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Philadelphia University, Post University, University of the Sciences and Wilmington University.

2013 CACC Baseball All-Conference Teams

First Team    
C- Matt Lopes, Wilmington Sophomore Deerfield Beach, Fla.
1B- Luis Gonzalez, Concordia
Senior Carmel, N.Y.
2B- Dylan Ebel, Dominican Freshman Coral Springs, Fla.
SS- Aaron Brill, Felician Junior West Palm Beach, Fla.
3B- Josh Hampton, Wilmington Junior West Grove, Pa.
OF- Tony Blake, Dominican
Windsor, Conn.
OF- Joe Gallub, Concordia Junior
Oceanside, N.Y.
OF- John Kennedy, Nyack
Sophomore Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
DH- Cristian Fiorito, Concordia Sophomore Yonkers, N.Y.
DH- Brendan Looby, Chestnut Hill
Sewell, N.J.
UT- Frank Samluk, Wilmington Sophomore
Middletown, Del.
SP- Dave Hatt, Wilmington Senior Toronto, Canada
SP- Peter Martinez, Dominican Sophomore White Plains, N.Y.
SP- Ray Gambone, Wilmington
Sophomore King of Prussia, Pa.
RP- Nick Marics, Wilmington
Junior Edison, N.J.
Second Team    
C- Tyler Clark, Dominican Junior Cheshire, Conn.
1B- Andrew Camardella, Dominican Senior Pelham, N.Y.
2B- Mike Shada, Post Junior Holtsville, N.Y.
2B- Paul Nyitray, Caldwell Junior Cranford, N.J.
2B- Kris Chatman, Nyack Sophomore
Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
SS- Kyle Davis, USciences Senior Garnet Valley, Pa.
3B- Mike Manganiello, Concordia Sophomore Levittown, N.Y.
OF- Brandon Payne, Wilmington Senior
New Castle, Del.
OF- Andrew Nunez, Caldwell Junior East Elmhurst, N.Y.
OF- Jordan Johnson, Wilmington
Senior Baltimore, Md.
DH- Carlos Lopez, Dominican Freshman Miami, Fla.
UT- Oliver Christensen, Dominican Sophomore Coral Springs, Fla.
SP- Vic Monteagudo, Felician Senior
West Palm Beach, Fla.
SP- Dominic Raia III, Chestnut Hill Sophomore Philadelphia, Pa.
SP- Albert Martucci, Concordia 
Patterson, N.Y.
RP- Jack Fowler, Felician Sophomore Shrewsbury, N.J.
Honorable Mention    
1B- Jon McMahon, USciences 
Senior Millville, N.J.
SS- Jonathan Rodriguez, Wilmington Senior
Jersey City, N.J.
UT- Cole Tobin, Nyack Sophomore Dover, N.H.
RP- Micah Winterstein, Chestnut Hill   
Graduate Philadelphia, Pa.
Player of the Year:  Luis Gonzalez, Concordia  
Pitcher of the Year:  Dave Hatt, Wilmington
Rookie of the Year:  Brendan Looby, Chestnut Hill
Coach of the Year:  Craig Everett, Concordia
Team Sportsmanship Award:  Nyack College
Regular Season Champions: Wilmington University