Trio of CACC Baseball Standouts Sign Professional Deals with High Desert Yardbirds

Trio of CACC Baseball Standouts Sign Professional Deals with High Desert Yardbirds

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (July 13, 2017) -- A trio of Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) baseball standouts recently signed professional contracts with the High Desert Yardbirds of the independent Pecos League of Professional Baseball Clubs.

The trio includes Jefferson University's Steven Wells and Felician University's Ronnie Grant and Matt Kleinstein.

Wells heads to the Yardbirds following an amazing senior season, which saw him earn the 2017 CACC Player-of-the-Year award. He batted .350 with 14 home runs and 37 runs batted in, while also scoring 46 times and stealing six bases. He led the CACC with 115 total bases, while also pacing the conference with a .706 slugging percentage.

Grant was named All-Division II East Region and All-CACC following a 2017 collegiate season which saw him hit .355 and slug .609 in 50 games. He picked up 12 doubles, eight triples and five home runs, scored 44 runs, and drove in 42 while stealing 11 bases.

Kleinstein was a four-year starter and two-time All-Region selection at catcher for the Golden Falcons. Felician posted a 119-80 won-lost record and won two CACC championships during his career, with him earning all-tournament honors during Felician's 2016 championship run. Kleinstein amassed 136 collegiate hits and holds the Golden Falcon record of 10 pickoffs.

The Pecos League was founded in 2010 and is headquartered in Houston, Texas. The Yardbirds, based in Adelanto, Calif., are a 2017 Pecos League expansion team.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Philadelphia University, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.