Georgian Court to Host 2018 CACC Men's and Women's Lacrosse Championships

Georgian Court to Host 2018 CACC Men's and Women's Lacrosse Championships

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (July 10, 2017) -- Georgian Court University will serve as the host for the semifinals and finals of the 2018 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Men's and Women's Lacrosse Championships, as announced on Monday by Commissioner Dan Mara. The 2017-18 athletic season will mark the first year the CACC is sponsoring a championship in men's lacrosse.

CACC Men's Lacrosse will feature six member schools competing for the inaugural conference crown in 2018, including Chestnut Hill College, Dominican College, Felician University, Georgian Court, Post University and Wilmington University.

The top-four teams in the final regular-season standings will advance to the 2018 CACC Championship, with the semifinals being contested on Friday, April 27. The No. 1 seed will take on the No. 4 seed in the semifinals, while the other semis matchup will feature the second seed taking on the third seed. Friday's two semifinal winners will advance to the CACC Championship Final on Sunday, April 29. All three contests during championship weekend will be held on the GCU Turf Field on the Georgian Court campus in Lakewood, N.J.

The CACC Women's Lacrosse Championship will feature the top-six teams from the regular-season standings. The top-two teams in the standings will receive a bye into championship weekend at the GCU Turf Field. The first round will be contested on Tuesday, April 24 with the No. 6 seed at the No. 3 seed and the fifth seed at the fourth seed. The two first-round winners will join the top-two seeds in championship weekend, which will include the semifinals on Saturday, April 28 and the championship final the next day on Sunday. 

Championship Weekend will kick off with the inaugural men's championship banquet on Thursday night, while the women's banquet will be held the following night.

The Georgian Court women will enter the 2018 campaign as the league's defending champion. In 2017, the Lions went undefeated in conference play and defeated Philadelphia University in the championship final to raise the championship trophy.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, Thomas Jefferson University, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.