Post's Sergio Diaz Named D2CCA Men's Soccer First-Team All American; WilmU's Will Stone Earns 2nd-Team Honors

Post's Sergio Diaz Named D2CCA Men's Soccer First-Team All American; WilmU's Will Stone Earns 2nd-Team Honors

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (November 28, 2018) -- Post University standout Sergio Diaz on Wednesday was named a 2018 Division II Conference Commissioners Association (D2CCA) First-Team All-American, as announced on Wednesday by the national organization. In addition to Diaz, Wilmington University's Will Stone was named a Second-Team All American.

It marks the latest major award for Diaz, who earlier this season was named the 2018 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Men's Soccer Player of the Year, as he led the league in points (44), assists (18) and ranked second in goals with 13. He helped guide the Eagles to the 2018 CACC Championship with strong play throughout the league tournament, as Post ultimately advanced to the NCAA Division II Tournament.

Diaz was one of just two student-athletes from the East Region to earn first-team accolades, including LIU Post's Lukas Ostermann. The CACC was tied with the Northeast-10 Conference for the most D2CCA All-Americans from the East Region (2 apiece).

Stone posted 12 goals and 14 assists for 38 points this season. He ranked second in the CACC in assists, points and shots (63), while ranking fourth in markers. Stone started all 22 matches for the Wildcats, as they claimed the CACC Regular Season Championship and reached the second round of the NCAA Division II Tournament. Stone was named to the All-CACC First Team.

Nominating and voting for the D2CCA All-America Teams was conducted by the Division II sports information directors throughout the entire nation. Student-athletes were nominated for the all-region teams (announced earlier this month), and all first-team all-region honorees moved on for consideration for the All-America squads.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.