Wilmington's Vinny Tasca Named United Soccer Coaches First-Team All-American

Wilmington's Vinny Tasca Named United Soccer Coaches First-Team All-American

Courtesy of Wilmington University Athletics

NEWARK, Del. (November 28, 2018) -- Senior goalkeeper Vinny Tasca made Wilmington University men's soccer program history as he was named a 2018 United Soccer Coaches Division II First Team All-American goalkeeper on Wednesday, as voted on by the nation's head coaches.

Formerly known at the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), the United Soccer Coaches All-American Teams were named ahead of the National Tournament Semifinals and Championship this weekend in Pittsburgh.

Vinny Tasca (Audubon, Pa.) becomes just the third First Team All-American in program history, but the first ever to be named to the First Team in the coaches' organization. Clifford Nwechefom is the only other Wildcat to earn All-American in the coaches' organization, being named Second Team NSCAA All-American in 2015.

Tasca was the anchor for the defense, leading the way to a team goals against average of 0.91 for the season. He made all 22 starts for the Wildcats, leading the CACC with seven shutouts, 15 wins, and a 0.92 GAA. He only allowed 21 goals on the year, making 59 saves for a 0.738 overall save percentage. He recorded a season high six saves in the Wildcats' contest at Jefferson. He will leave as the program's all-time leader in shutouts with 18.

He was also named the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Goalkeeper of the Year and First Team All-CACC, First Team United Soccer Coaches All-East Region, and First Team D2CCA All-East Region honors this season.

Fellow members of from the East Region named United Soccer Coaches All-American include First Team honoree Marek Weber (Le Moyne), Second Team honorees Manuel Achondo (Mercy) and Lukas Ostermann (LIU Post), and Third Team honorees Salar Faryar (Le Moyne), and Alex Satrustegui (Southern New Hampshire).

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.