Post Scores Pair of Second-Half Goals to Down Top-Seeded Wilmington & Claim 2018 CACC Men's Soccer Championship

Post Scores Pair of Second-Half Goals to Down Top-Seeded Wilmington & Claim 2018 CACC Men's Soccer Championship


WATERBURY, Conn. (November 4, 2018) -- Post University scored a pair of second-half goals to snap a scoreless tie and lift the second-seeded Eagles to a 2-0 triumph over top-seeded Wilmington University on Sunday afternoon in the 2018 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Men's Soccer Championship Final at LaMoy Field in Waterbury, Conn.

Post improved to 12-7-1 on the season and locked up the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Division II East Region Tournament next weekend at a site to be determined. WilmU fell to 14-2-4 and will await word if it receives an at-large bid to the NCAAs.

Phillimon Bedard-Kha snapped the scoreless tie in the 80th minute with a header off a nice crossing pass from Sergio Diaz. The marker proved to be the game-winner, and Alvaro Sanchez provided Post with some insurance with a tally with just 91 seconds remaining.

Post's two markers in the second half came after the Eagles were outshot, 20-4, in the opening 45 minutes by Wilmington. However, Fredrik Pederson made 10 of his 12 stops in the first half to keep the match scoreless, while his teammates found their footing and eventually broke through in the second half. Sam Jester and Tom Garratt each led the Wildcats with five shots, while the latter put four of his attempts on net.

Diaz, who earlier in the week was named the CACC Player of the Year, assisted on the game-winner and was named the tournament's most valuable player in the process.

Georg Montag (Holy Family University)
Sander Goleman (Caldwell University)
Vinicius Monteiro (Georgian Court University)
Louis Silva (Georgian Court University)
Val Mokrejs (Jefferson)
Charlie Livesey (Jefferson)
Tom Garratt (Wilmington University)
Will Stone (Wilmington University)
Fredrik Bentdal (Wilmington University)
Fredrik Pedersen (Post University)
Sergio Diaz (Post University)
Andrea Baleotto (Post University)
Phillimon Bedard-Khalid (Post University)
Matteo Moro (Post University)
MVP - Sergio Diaz (Post University) 

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.