62 Honorees Named to 2018 CACC Men's Soccer All-Academic Team

62 Honorees Named to 2018 CACC Men's Soccer All-Academic Team


NEW HAVEN, Conn. (December 17, 2018) -- Sixty-two (62) student-athletes on Monday were named to the 2018 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Men's Soccer All-Academic Team, as announced by Commissioner Dan Mara. The 62 honorees represent all 13 schools in the CACC that compete in the sport at the varsity level.

Georgian Court University led all schools with 10 student-athletes named to the academic squad, followed by Caldwell University with eight and Wilmington University with seven. Manuel Grawe was GCU's top cumulative grade point average on the academic team with a mark of 3.85 in his major of marketing. Five of Caldwell's eight honorees had GPAs of 3.80 or higher, while WilmU's Dimitrios Topouzlis paced the Wildcats with a GPA of 3.98.

It marked the fourth major academic award for Topouzlis in 2018, as he was also named the CACC Top XVI Award winner at the conference's men's soccer championship in early November with having the highest GPA of all competing student-athletes in the semis and final. He was also named a Google Cloud/CoSIDA Academic All-American, while also locking up Academic All-District I honors from the national organization of sports information directors. Topouzlis was one of 12 honorees on the list who earned GPAs of 3.90 or higher. Topouzlis' GPA was also the highest in the CACC for all 13 competing schools.

Thirty-four (34) of the 62 honorees were named to the CACC All-Academic Team for at least the second time in their respective careers, marking 55 percent of the list earning the award multiple times. Twelve (12) of the student-athletes were named to the unit for the third time in their career.

To be eligible for the All-Academic Team, a student-athletes must meet the following criteria: a) minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 at the end of the immediate preceding term; b) minimum of two semesters enrolled as full-time student at member institution; c) student-athlete must be second year student-athlete at member institution; and d) student-athlete must have been athletically eligible the season preceding the award and used a season of eligibility.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.