Caldwell's Monasseri Earns 2nd Straight CACC Softball Player-of-the-Year Award; All-CACC Tms Announced

Caldwell's Monasseri Earns 2nd Straight CACC Softball Player-of-the-Year Award; All-CACC Tms Announced

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (May 1, 2017) -- Caldwell University standout Marisa Monasseri on Monday was named the 2017 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Softball Player of the Year, as announced by Commissioner Dan Mara. It marks the second-consecutive year Monasseri was named the league's top player. Voting for the major awards and all-conference teams were conducted by the league's 14 head coaches in the sport.

Joining Monasseri as major award winners were Caldwell's Sydney Ponto (2017 CACC Pitcher of the Year), Wilmington University's Rosa'Lynn Burton (2017 CACC Rookie of the Year) and Dean Johnson (2017 BSN Sports CACC Coach of the Year).

Monasseri leads the CACC in batting average (.518), home runs (9), runs batted in (57), total bases (109), walks (44), on-base percentage (.637) and slugging percentage (.796). She also ranks second in the league with 71 hits. Monasseri's efforts at the plate helped lead the Cougars to a 25-1 conference record and the CACC regular season championship. She earned the award for the second-straight year, while also being placed on the All-CACC First Team for the second year in a row at catcher. 

Ponto has produced a 25-4 record this season with a 1.47 earned run average. She has also totaled a pair of saves. Ponto tops the CACC in several categories, including wins, complete games (19), innings pitched (185.1), strikeouts (231) and batting average against (.185). She also ranked second in appearances (34) and starts (28). Ponto also earned a spot on the all-conference first team for her efforts in the pitching circle.

Burton was named the league's top rookie after producing a .474 batting average with a homer, 27 RBI, 52 runs scored and 39 stolen bases. The outfielder, who also earned a spot on the all-league first team, is leading the CACC in hits (82), runs, at-bats (173) and stolen bases. She also ranks second with six triples.

Johnson was named the coach of the year after leading Caldwell to a 40-13 overall record, a 25-1 mark in league play, the CACC regular season title and a current No. 16 national ranking in Division ll. 

The other major award handed out on Monday was the 2017 CACC Softball Team Sportsmanship Award, which was given to Nyack College for displaying outstanding character and sportsmanship throughout the entire year.

The following lists are the All-CACC First and Second Teams:

C Marisa Monasseri (Caldwell University)
1B Kiahna Silva (Caldwell University)
2B Lauren Frye (Caldwell University)
3B Kayla Kresley (Post University)
SS Taylor Favinger (Holy Family University)
OF Rosa’Lynn Burton (Wilmington University)
OF Brianna Scotto (Holy Family University)
OF Carly Testa (Caldwell University)
P Jennifer Paride (Dominican College)
P Sydney Ponto (Caldwell University)
P Caitlyn Whiteside (Wilmington University)
DP Nicole Spiegelberg (Felician University)
UTIL: Non Pitcher Brittany Granahan (University of the Sciences)
UTIL: Pitcher Naomi Stas (Philadelphia University)

C Samantha Reilly (Georgian Court University)
1B Mia Montoya (Felician University)
2B Jazmeen Llamas (Wilmington University)
3B Kaitlyn Slater (Wilmington University)
SS Melissa Rini (Caldwell University)
OF Delanie Cruz (Bloomfield College)
OF Steph Donah (Felician University)
OF Alina Ponce De Leon (Holy Family University)
P Briannen Holloway (Chestnut Hill College)
P Stephanie Pepper (Philadelphia University)
P Bailey Walters (Holy Family University)
DP Erica Ragazzone (Post University)
UTIL: Non Pitcher Kayla Henry-Caltabellotta (Philadelphia University)
UTIL: Pitcher Koreen Orozco (Holy Family University) 

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Philadelphia University, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.