Georgian Court Comes Up Short Against SNHU on Day 1 of NCAA Softball Regional

Georgian Court Comes Up Short Against SNHU on Day 1 of NCAA Softball Regional

Courtesy of Georgian Court University Athletics

MANCHESTER, N.H. (May 9, 2019) -- Georgian Court University, making its first NCAA Division II regional appearance since 2014, suffered a 4-2 setback to Southern New Hampshire University Thursday afternoon on Day One of the East 1 Regional.

The #4 Lions will now take on #8 University of Bridgeport Friday at 12:30 p.m. in an elimination game after the Purple Knights (33-15) dropped a 3-1 decision to #1 seed, Saint Anselm College (38-8), in the first contest of the afternoon. The host-Hawks will take on the Penmen tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. in the winner's bracket. 

SNHU center-fielder, Jordan Wade, put the #5-seed on the board first with a solo home run down the left-field line in the top of the second frame. Georgian Court countered when LF Malia Blackreached on a fielder's choice, then went on to swipe both second and third base before coming in on a two-out fielding blunder to tie the game.

The score would stay knotted until the fourth as a double down the left-field line from SS Erin Tyrrell snapped the stalemate and put SNHU up, 2-1. The Penmen proceeded to put their mark on the contest in the subsequent inning, thanks to a two-run single off the bat of 1B Emily Carbonneau, which put Southern New Hampshire up, 4-1.

GCU (45-10) was able to get one tally back in the bottom of the fifth after a Malia Black single brought around pinch-runner Adriana Scimone from second base, but that would be it for the Lions' offense on the day.

SNHU starter, Maddy Barone (19-6), went the distance in the victory (7.0 IP, 4 H, 2 R, 1 ER, 4 BB, 8 K) while Mikayla Gilgert (17-7) suffered the loss for the Lions (5.0 IP, 9 H, 4 R, 3 ER, 1 BB, 2 K).

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.