Georgian Court to Host 2018 CACC Track & Field Championships

Georgian Court to Host 2018 CACC Track & Field Championships

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (July 14, 2017) -- Georgian Court University has been chosen to host the 2018 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Men's and Women's Track & Field Championships, as announced on Friday by Commissioner Dan Mara. The event will be held on Sunday, May 6, on the track and jump/throw facilities around the GCU Turf Field on the Georgian Court campus in Lakewood, N.J.

With its impressive on-campus facilities, Georgian Court has served as the host institution for each of the league's track & field championships since the CACC began hosting an event in 2014. Under the guidance of head coach Mike Murawski, the Lions have won each team championship handed out in both men's and women's track & field, as the first women's championship event was in the spring of 2014, while the men's championship began in the spring of 2015.

While GCU will look to continue its impressive run, several other schools will be looking to wrestle the championship away, including Bloomfield College and Caldwell University, who have finished among the top-three, respectively, over the last several years. 

The top-two finishers in each individual event (both men's and women's) will earn all-conference honors, with the first-place performer being crowned the individual champion. Following the completion of all events, the CACC will conduct its championship awards ceremony in the GCU Wellness Center Gymnasium, honoring each of the top-two competitors in each event and recognizing the men's and women's team champion. The CACC will also present the Top XVI Award to one men's competitor and one female competitor, who sport the highest cumulative grade point average in their respective championship in 2018.

Each conference member is eligible to put in a bid to host each of the 16 championship events contested in the CACC. Bids for the following year are collected and reviewed by the CACC Championships Committee and voted on by the league's Directors Council at the conference's year-end meeting each June.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Philadelphia University, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.