Irisa Ye Named USBWA Division II National Player of the Week

Irisa Ye Named USBWA Division II National Player of the Week

Courtesy of University of the Sciences Athletics

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. (January 3, 2019) – Days after winning her first-ever Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Player of the Week award, University of the Sciences' Irisa Ye has been named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association Women's Division II National Player of the Week.

The sophomore helped lead USciences to a 3-0 road-trip in Massachusetts, which featured there wins over regionally-ranked teams, two of which were nationally-ranked. 

Ye led all three contests – at No. 2 Bentley, vs. Assumption and at No. 25 Stonehill - in scoring, averaging 22.7 points in just 28.3 minutes per game. She shot 56.7 percent from the floor (21-of-37), and made 22-of-23 free throw attempts and 4-of-5 3-pointers.

She also averaged 4.7 rebounds and 2.3 steals per game, while committing just two turnovers in 85 minutes. 

Ye began the road trip pacing a balanced scoring attack at No. 2 Bentley with a game-high 17 points, to go along with six rebounds, two assists and two steals, as USciences knocked off the second-ranked Falcons. She gave the Devils their first fourth quarter lead, 72-70, with 2:07 to play. 

She then had eight of her game-high 19 points in the fourth quarter of Saturday's victory over Assumption, the 10th-ranked team in the region, while also leading USciences with six rebounds, to go along with two assists and two steals. 

Ye saved her best performance for Sunday at No. 25 Stonehill, pouring in 26 of her career-high 32 points - in 27 minutes – in the second half to seal up Stonehill Holiday Tournament MVP honors. She made 9-of-12 field goals, both of her 3-point attempts and all 12 of her free throw attempts, and also tied her career-best with three steals.

University of the Sciences (11-0) will look for its fourth win over a regionally-ranked team in less than a week when it returns to CACC action tonight, opening the New Year with a 6 p.m. tip at undefeated No. 13 Jefferson (12-0).

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.