Dominican College to Add Men's & Women's Tennis Beginning in the 2019-20 Season

Dominican College to Add Men's & Women's Tennis Beginning in the 2019-20 Season

Courtesy of Dominican College Athletics

ORANGEBURG, N.Y. (December 20, 2018)  Dominican College Director of Athletics, Joseph S. Clinton, has announced the addition of men's and women's tennis intercollegiate athletic programs that will commence play during the 2019-2020 academic year.  The programs expand DC's sports offerings to 17 NCAA Division II Sports.

"We are excited about the addition of the men's and women's tennis programs," Clinton said.  "We have been looking for ways to increase opportunities for student-athletes and with both sports already being conference championship sports, it will allow both programs to have immediate post-season opportunities as part of the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference."

Clinton has named Joseph Gravagna as the head coach of both programs.

"We are looking forward to competing in the fall of 2019," said Gravagna.  "We are very excited to build a strong men's and women's tennis program and compete in the CACC.  I would like to thank Director of Athletics, Joe Clinton, and the athletic department for this opportunity."

Gravagna brings a wealth of coaching experience to the programs as he was most recently the head coach of the Rockland Community College's men's and women's tennis programs.  At RCC he coached three All-American players, took his men's team to back-to-back National Championships after winning Regional and Conference Championships and his women's team finished as high as seventh in the nation.  He also coached a women's player to the NJCAA D3 National Championship.

Prior to that, Gravagna served as an assistant coach at Fordham University, Queens College and Manhattan College. 

He began his coaching career as the varsity boy's tennis coach at Holy Cross High School.

Both programs compete in the fall and spring athletic seasons.  The women's CACC Championship Tournament is held in the fall, while the men's CACC Championship Tournament is held in the spring.

To learn more about men's and women's tennis, along with DC's 15 other NCAA Division II men's and women's athletic programs, please visit

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.