Nyack Tops Current Standings for 2017-18 CACC Women's Team Sportsmanship Award After Fall Season

Nyack Tops Current Standings for 2017-18 CACC Women's Team Sportsmanship Award After Fall Season

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (December 6, 2017) -- Nyack College sits in first place in the 2017-18 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Women's Sportsmanship Award standings following the recently completed fall season. The announcement was made on Wednesday by CACC Commissioner Dan Mara.

Nyack was identified as the first-place school in the updated standings by the total number of sportsmanship votes the institution received over the course of the fall season in women's sports, divided by the total number of female sports sponsored. The Lightning posted an average score of 26.67, as four women's sports voted on during the fall included women's tennis, women's cross country, women's soccer and volleyball. Wilmington University is currently in second place in the standings with an average score of 12.25, while Holy Family University is in third with a mark of 11.75.

The Warriors women's soccer and volleyball teams each claimed their respective 2017 CACC Sportsmanship Awards, as the latter earned 43 points in the voting to distance itself from the field.

Wilmington's second-place effort through the fall was supported by a second-place finish in the voting for the women's tennis sportsmanship award, while Holy Family women's tennis squad captured the sport's sportsmanship honor to help the school move into third place in the overall standings.

Each sport's team sportsmanship award is voted on by the league's head coaches in their respective sport. Head coaches speak with their student-athletes prior to voting to gain feedback on which opposing teams demonstrated outstanding class and character throughout the season.

The complete rankings for the 2017-18 CACC Women's Team Sportsmanship Award are as follows:

1. Nyack College (26.67)
2. Wilmington University (12.25)
3. Holy Family University (11.75)
4. Post University (11.00)
5. Concordia College (8.25)
T6. University of the Sciences (8.00)
T6. Goldey-Beacom College (8.00)
T6. Dominican College (8.00)
9. Chestnut Hill College (7.75)
10. Caldwell University (7.25)
11. Felician University (6.67)
12. Jefferson (6.00)
T13. Georgian Court University (2.00)
T13. Bloomfield College (2.00)

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.