CACC Announces its Hall of Fame Class of 2019

CACC Announces its Hall of Fame Class of 2019

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (September 4, 2019) -- The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) on Wednesday announced its Hall of Fame Class of 2019, which includes four individuals and one team. The announcement was made by CACC Commissioner Dan Mara, as the four individuals included Catherine Carr (Holy Family University, Women's Basketball), Ron Kornegay (Monmouth University, Men's Basketball), Devon Young (Felician University Men's Basketball) and Chrissy Woodruff (University of the Sciences, Women's Cross Country). The 2005-06 Goldey-Beacom College Men's Golf squad also earned a spot in the Class of 2019, as the team inductee. Kornegay enters the CACC Hall of Fame as a Legacy honoree, as he played for the school in the 60s, when the institution was a member of the conference.

"The Class of 2019 is an impressive group of individuals who earned not only numerous conference honors, but regional and national accolades," Mara said. "The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference has a history filled with historic moments and these former student-athletes contributed to many of those. They helped to grow the CACC at both the NAIA and NCAA Division II levels. The current success the conference enjoys can be traced to their important efforts."

Each individual will officially be inducted into the CACC Hall of Fame during an on-campus event at their respective institution throughout the 2019-20 athletic season.

CATHERINE CARR (Holy Family University, Women's Basketball): Carr made her mark as one of the finest women's basketball players in conference history. She was named the 2007-08 CACC Rookie of the Year, and followed that up a year later in 2008-09 by being named the conference's player of the year. Carr was named to the All-CACC Team each of her four seasons, including first-team status as a sophomore, junior and senior. At the national level, Carr was a two-time WBCA All-American, including honorable-mention status in 2009-10 and first-team honors in 2010-11. She is the program's all-time leading scorer with 1,995 points. However, Carr's career was not only defined by individual success, but tremendous team success as well. She helped lead the Tigers to four-consecutive CACC Regular Season Championships and the conference crown in 2008. She was named the most valuable player of the CACC Tournament in 2008, while leading the team to the league title. Behind Carr's spectacular play, HFU advanced to the NCAA Division II Regional Tournament all four years, including reaching the regional finals in 2008 and 2010. Overall, Holy Family was 112-15, and an eye-popping 73-1 in CACC play during her four seasons. Carr was not only a standout on the court, but also in the classroom, as she was a three-time CACC All-Academic Team honoree.

RON KORNEGAY (Monmouth University, Men's Basketball): Kornegay becomes the first "Legacy" inductee in CACC Hall of Fame history. Despite 50 years passing since Kornegay last suited up for the school, he is still the program's all-time leading scorer with 2,526 points. Monmouth went 101-16 during his career, as Kornegay helped lead the school to three trips to the NAIA National Tournament in Kansas City, Mo. Kornegay averaged 23.2 points per game during his career, and holds the single-season scoring record with 733 points. He won back-to-back NAIA First-Team All-America honors in 1968 and 1969. He also took part in the 1968 U.S. Olympic Trials. He also spent 10 years as the head coach at Monmouth following his illustrious playing career.

CHRISSY WOODRUFF (University of the Sciences, Women's Cross Country): Woodruff won the CACC Championship Women's Cross Country individual championship three times during her amazing career, thus becoming the first harrier to accomplish that feat. She remains just one of two women's runners to complete the task in CACC history. Each season she won the CACC race, she also became the league's runner of the year. She claimed the honors in 2000, 2001 and 2002. Woodruff won the 2001 race by 34 seconds, completing the 5k course in 19:30.01, to break her own CACC Championship record by 20 seconds. That 2001 mark stood as the fastest time in women's cross country championship history for six year. Woodruff led wire-to-wire at the 2002 race, winning the event in one minute and 21 seconds. She finished in the top three of of two NAIA regional meets, taking second in 2001 and third in 2002, and competed in three-consecutive NAIA National Championship races from 2000 to 2002.

DEVON YOUNG (Felician University, Men's Basketball): Young was one of the most well-rounded student-athletes during the NCAA era in CACC history, as his list of accomplishments feature numerous athletic and academic honors. He is the program's all-time leader with 1,958 points, while also ranking in the top five in rebounds, assists and steals. He dropped in a school-record 39 points in a victory in the CACC semis in 2010, as Young and the Golden Falcons went on to capture the conference championship, and lock up the program's first trip to the NCAA Tournament. Young was named the MVP of the tournament, while also earning all-conference accolades that season as well. Young was a three-time All-CACC honoree, including first-team status in the 2010-11 campaign. He was the 2007-08 CACC Rookie of the Year, and was placed on the All-Met Writers Team each of his four seasons (first-team accolades twice). Young was the 2010-11 CACC Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and was named a CoSIDA Second-Team Academic All-American that season as well. He was named to the CACC All-Academic Team three times, while also receiving the Arthur Ashe Award as many times. Young was selected to the 2011 NABC Honors Court for his academic commitment.

2005-06 GOLDEY-BEACOM COLLEGE MEN'S GOLF TEAM: The Lightning won the 2006 NCAA Division II Regional Tournament, and advanced to the national championship event. The squad became the first team in school history to win an NCAA Tournament event. G-B led wire-to-wire in the regional tournament, claiming the crown by 24 strokes. It was the team's third tournament title that season. Golfing greats Mike Tobiason and Steve Cutler shared individual medalist honors at the 2006 CACC Championship by carding 144s, while the former went on to win the NCAA regional individual championship with a three-round total of 221 (+8). Tobiason will enter the CACC Hall of Fame for the second time, as he was a member of the league's inaugural class in 2015.

The CACC Hall of Fame was established in 2015, as the Class of 2019 marks the fifth group to enter the league's prestigious group. Each of the conference's 14-member institutions are able to nominate individuals or teams each year, as all nominees are then reviewed and selected by the CACC Hall of Fame Committee. The committee includes various administrators in all capacities at the various schools.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.