CACC Announces 2012-2013 Men's Tennis All-Conference

CACC Announces 2012-2013 Men's Tennis All-Conference

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Concordia College junior Daniele Piludu (Cagliari, Italy) has been named the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Men's Tennis Player of the Year at the league's annual awards banquet tonight.  Neil Tarangioli of Concordia was honored as Coach of the Year, University of the Sciences' Jake Sosonkin (Brooklyn, N.Y.) was tabbed as Rookie of the Year and Caldwell College garnered the annual Team Sportsmanship Award.  All six members of the CACC All-Conference First Team reside at Concordia College.

Piludu, the 2011 CACC Rookie of the Year, was the unanimous choice by the conference coaches as the 2013 Player of the Year.  The ITA East Regional Champion, placed third in the ITA National Small College Championships and is currently ranked #2 in singles and #1 in doubles in the East Region.  Nationally, Piludu is ranked #14 in singles and #8 in doubles and went undefeated in CACC play in both singles and doubles for his career. 

Sosonkin was thrust to the top of the USciences' lineup as a freshman as he started the year against Chestnut Hill College by winning at #2 singles (6-0, 6-3) and playing the rest of the 2012-2013 campaign in the #1 position.  He won his first four matches of the season in straight-sets and teamed with David Kazakevich at #1 doubles for an 8-1 overall mark.

Concordia head coach Neil Tarangioli directed his Clippers to an undefeated conference record all by 9-0 scores.  Concordia is in search of its fourth-consecutive CACC Men's Tennis Tournament Championship this weekend.  Not only has CC claimed every position on the all-conference first team, but also placed two additional players on the second team.  In Tarangioli's 33 years as Concordia head coach, this is the 17th time he has been honored as coach of the year in the leagues in which the Clippers have participated.

Joining Piludu on the first team all-conference are teammates: senior Andrey Boldarev (Tashkent, Uzbekistan); senior Andreas Lindell (Helsingborg, Sweden); sophomore Benas Majauskas (Vilnius, Lithuania); sophomore Tomasz Olfans (Opole, Poland); and senior David Tisserand (Lyon, France). 

The second team all-conference members include: Concordia sophomores Ricardo Frey (Curitiba, Brazil) and Juuso Ojanen (Varkaus, Finland); Philadelphia University senior Kyle Burke (Wakefield, R.I.); University of the Sciences sophomore Steven Galerkin (San Francisco, Calif.); Post University freshman Nicholas Tadros (Montreal, Quebec); and Chestnut Hill College sophomore Michael Humes (Mount Laurel, N.J.) and junior Anthony Moore (Williamstown, N.J.).

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell College, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician College, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Philadelphia University, Post University, University of the Sciences and Wilmington University.


First Team    
Andrey Boldarev, Concordia College Senior Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Andreas Lindell, Concordia College Senior Helsingborg, Sweden
Benas Majauskas, Concordia College Sophomore Vilnius, Lithuania
Tomasz Olfans, Concordia College Sophomore Opole, Poland
Daniele Piludu, Concordia College Junior Cagliari, Italy
David Tisserand, Concordia College Senior Lyon, France
Second Team    
Kyle Burke, Philadelphia University Senior Wakefield, R.I.
Ricardo Frey, Concordia College Sophomore Curitiba, Brazil
Steven Galerkin, University of the Sciences Sophomore San Francisco, Calif.
Michael Humes, Chestnut Hill College Sophomore Mount Laurel, N.J.
Anthony Moore, Chestnut Hill College Junior Williamstown, N.J.
Juuso Ojanen, Concordia College Sophomore Varkaus, Finland
Nicholas Tadros, Post University
Freshman Montreal, Quebec

Player of the Year: Daniele Piludu, Concordia College
Rookie of the Year:
Jake Sosonkin, University of the Sciences (Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Coach of the Year:
Neil Tarangioli, Concordia College
Team Sportsmanship Award: 
Caldwell College