November 6, 2004

Chargers Prevail Over Wilmington In Shootout After Scoreless Final

RUTHERFORD, NJ - Dominican (N.Y.) College won the 2004 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference women's soccer championship on Saturday at Tryon Field. Dominican defeated No. 2 seed Wilmington (Del.) College, 3-0, in a penalty-kick shootout after playing to a 0-0 tie in the title game, hosted by Felician College.

Jill Smith, Margaret Denman and Stacey Ryan converted the first three kicks of the shootout for No. 4 seed Domincan (13-5-2). When Wilmington (16-2-2) missed on each of its first three attempts, the Lady Chargers had won the championship.

The Wildcats outshot Dominican, 22-6, on the day. The best chance of the game for either team was when Wilmington was awarded a penalty kick with 18 minutes, 52 seconds remaining in regulation. Charger keeper Jill Slesinski dove to her left to save the kick by Colby Bugda and keep the game scoreless. Slesinki made 10 saves on the afternoon and was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player. Dominican last won the CACC women's soccer championship in 1998.

Wilmington keeper Chrissy Bevenour made four saves in her shutout. The tournament results and All-Tournament Team are listed below.

2004 CACC Women's Soccer Tournament

Monday, November 1

(3) Caldwell 3, (6) Felician 0

(4) Dominican 2, (5) Goldey-Beacom 1

Thursday, November 4

(at Tryon Field, Rutherford, N.J.)

Dominican 3, (1) Holy Family 2 (OT)

(2) Wilmington 0, Caldwell 0 (2OT)

Wilmington advances on penalty kicks, 4-3.

Saturday, November 6

(at Tryon Field, Rutherford, N.J.)

Dominican 0, Wilmington 0

Dominican wins championship on penalty kicks, 3-0.

2004 All-Tournament Team

Margaret Denman, Dominican

Candice O'Brien, Dominican

Stacey Ryan, Dominican

Jill Slesinski, Dominican*

Jill Smith, Dominican

Dana Ayers, Wilmington

Chrissy Bevenour, Wilmington

Christine Knight, Wilmington

Brook Delucca, Caldwell

Erica Marinho, Caldwell

Colleen Gregory, Holy Family

Brianne Redelheim, Holy Family

Makenzie Woods, Felician

Kristin Johnson, Goldey-Beacom

*Tournament MVP