CACC Women's Soccer All-Conference and Major Awards Announced

CACC Women's Soccer All-Conference and Major Awards Announced

[Click for full list]

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Senior midfielder Julie Crankshaw (Lanoka Harbor, N.J.) of Caldwell College has been named Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Women’s Soccer Player of the Year as voted by the league’s coaches.  Freshman goalkeeper Sienna Smith (Pottsville, N.J.) of Holy Family University was tabbed as the Rookie of the Year and her mentor Jill Kehan was honored with Coach of the Year honors.  Goldey-Beacom College was cited as the Team Sportsmanship Award winner.

Crankshaw proved to be an offensive threat out of the midfield for the Cougars in 2013.  The senior found the back of the net eight times during the regular season (4th, CACC), seven of those goals were in conference play, which ranked her second in the CACC.  She led the conference with four game-winning goals during the season with three coming in league play.  Overall, Crankshaw was ranked third in points with 21 and fifth in assists with five. 

Smith was honored during the regular season by the conference office as the Rookie and/or Defensive Player of the Week four times.  She was named Rookie of the Week on October 28, Defensive and Rookie of the Week on October 7 and Defensive Player of the Week on September 16.  The rookie keeper led the conference with seven shutouts during the regular season.  In 12 conference games, Smith posted shutouts in six of those contests with a 0.58 goals-against average (2nd, CACC) by surrendering only seven goals. 

In only her second season as the helm for Holy Family, Kehan guided the Tigers to the CACC Regular Season Championship with an 8-1-3 record.  The regular season title was the first for Holy Family since 2007 when HFU was a perfect 11-0-0.  The Tigers outscored its conference opponents 28-7 during the 2013 campaign.

Joining Crankshaw on the CACC All-Conference First Team were teammates Natalie Migoya and Lauren Iuliucci; Tessa Dunster of Post University; Carly DiGiovanni of Chestnut Hill College; Mikie Bradley of Bloomfield College; Jamilyn Snyder of Dominican College; Cyan Jean-Baptiste of Nyack College; Madison Hudson of Holy Family; and Jamie Smith and Casey O’Connor of Georgian Court University.

Named to the CACC All-Conference Second Team were Ashley Shackleford and Lisa Abramski of Holy Family; Alysia Arcona of Felician College; Taylor Mize of Georgian Court University; Amanda Halter and Diana Hernandez of Nyack; Janine Cascio of Philadelphia University; Olivia Antonopoulos and Gina Yannette of Dominican; Lauren Nolte of Chestnut Hill; and Rebecca Stinger of Caldwell.

Alexandra Smith of Goldey-Beacom College and Sashagay Spence of Bloomfield were named Honorable Mention.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell College, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician College, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Philadelphia University, Post University, Unversity of the Sciences and Wilmington University.